Volta Ciclista a Catalunya
Stage 5: Llanars Vall de Camprodon - Valls - Stage Details

The longest stage of the race featured only one categorised climb, which came in the final 20 kilometres of the stagee. The race started off at a fast clip. While his teammates conserved in the bunch, Meier attempted to get into the early escape.

Cannondale and Lampre-Merida kept a watchful eye on the eight riders up ahead, bringing them back before the final climb. With the category two Lilla looming, Yates, Chaves and Howson moved the front of the bunch. When the attacks began, the trio remained attentive, with Howson finding himself off the front as he followed moves.

All attacks were neutralised. Luka Mezgec (Giant-Shimano) won the stage ahead of Julian Alaphilippe (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) and Samuel Dumoulin (AG2R La Mondiale). Yates managed seventh in the sprint from a reduced bunch of just under 40 riders.

“It was a scrap fight to the line. Everybody wanted to get to the front. Adam was the only one from the team who actually got himself up there. He was positioned really well, but he opened up his sprint from the front and he went a little bit too early. The original idea was to have him up there for Leigh. He hadn’t planned to sprint for himself. We won this stage with Simon Gerrans last year. It’s a transition type stage, and it’s not the sort of day that would normally suit Adam. He did a good job given the race circumstances.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Luka Mezgec (Slo) - Team Giant-Shimano 5:16:00
2 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
3 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
4 Paul Martens (Ger) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
5 Michel Kreder (Ned) - Wanty - Groupe Gobert ST
6 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
7 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
8 Kévin Reza (Fra) - Team Europcar ST
9 Tosh Van Der Sande (Bel) - Lotto Belisol ST
10 Davide Vigano (Ita) - Caja Rural - Seguros RGA ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
7 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
15 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
39 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:06
66 Esteban Chaves (Col) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:15
90 Damien Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:32
146 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:09