Vuelta a Espana
Stage 5: Rota to Alcala de Guadaira - Stage Details

21-year-old Caleb Ewan has won stage five of the 2015 Vuelta a Espana in his debut season and Grand Tour.

Ewan capitalised on a perfect lead out by his ORICA-GreenEDGE teammates Mitch DockerMathew Hayman and Jens Keukeleire on what was tough uphill drag to the finish line.

In the process, the neo-pro got the better of ten-time Grand Tour stage winner John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin) and four-time Tour de France stage winner Peter Sagan (Tinkoff-Saxo).

“This is by far the happiest day in my career,” Ewan said. “To beat some of the best sprinters in the world, especially guys like Sagan and Degenkolb on an uphill finish, it really means a lot to me.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 3:57:28
2 John Degenkolb (GER) - Team Giant-Alpecin ST
3 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
4 Jean-Pierre Drucker (LUX) - BMC Racing Team ST
5 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (SPA) - Movistar Team 0:00:02
6 Kristian Sbaragli (ITA) - MTN - Qhubeka 0:00:02
7 Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:02
8 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (SPA) - Team Katusha 0:00:02
9 Tosh Van Der Sande (BEL) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:02
10 Nikolas Maes (BEL) - Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:02
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 3:57:28
21 Jhoan Esteban Chaves Rubio (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:08
53 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:17
80 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:40
131 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:52
140 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:10
141 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:10
158 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:05
168 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE