Vuelta a España
Stage 11: Colunga. Jurassic Museum to Peña Cabarga - Stage Details

2015 Tour of Abu Dhabi winner Esteban Chaves attacked bravely on the Pena Cabarga climb on stage 11 of the Vuelta a Espana today, bringing the race to life before being caught with 800metres to go and retaining fourth on the general classification.

ORICA-BikeExchange teammate and stage six winner Simon Yates also rode strongly up the final climb to take sixth place on the stage and move up to seventh overall going into stage 12.

Christopher Froome (Team-Sky) won the stage with Nairo Quintana (Movistar) in second, retaining the race lead.

The attack of Chaves animated the finale as the Colombian gave his all after ORICA-BikeExchange worked hard leading the peloton onto the start of the Pena Cabarga climb.

“You can just ride and hold on to finish sixth or seventh on the general classification,” said Chaves. “But it’s better to try and attack instead, win a stage and finish tenth overall.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Christopher Froome (GBR) - Team Sky 3:44:47
2 Nairo Quintana (COL) - Movistar Team ST
3 Alejandro Valverde (SPA) - Movistar Team 0:00:06
4 Leopold Konig (CZE) - Team Sky 0:00:06
5 Alberto Contador (SPA) - Tinkoff Team 0:00:08
6 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:13
7 Michele Scarponi (ITA) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:14
8 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:19
9 Pierre-Roger Latour (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:22
10 Samuel Sanchez (SPA) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:30
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
6 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:13
8 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:19
29 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:58
58 Jack Haig (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:04:42
108 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:08:58
123 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:10:20
151 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:12:52