Vuelta a España
Stage 12: Los Corrales de Buelna to Bilbao - Stage Details

Tour of Slovenia stage winner Jens Keukeleire finished off a perfect day to take a sprint victory on stage 12 of the Vuelta a Espana today, hitting out early to finish well clear of the reduced bunch. 

ORICA-BikeExchange hit the finale in numbers and a great team performance was brought home by 26-year-old Keukeleire after Briton Simon Yates covered late moves and Australian Damien Howson executed the lead out.

“The first thing I thought about (after crossing the line) was my girlfriend and my son who are here today,” said Keukeleire. “It has only been a month since I became a father for the first time and they’ve been here the last couple of days, so to get my first GrandTour win in front of them is amazing.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 4:31:43
2 Maxime Bouet (FRA) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
3 Fabio Felline (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo ST
4 Kristian Sbaragli (ITA) - Dimension Data ST
5 Luis Leon Sanchez (SPA) - Astana Pro Team ST
6 Pello Bilbao (SPA) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA ST
7 Jan Bakelants (BEL) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
8 Alejandro Valverde (SPA) - Movistar Team ST
9 Silvan Dillier (SWI) - BMC Racing Team ST
10 Mathias Frank (SWI) - IAM Cycling ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 4:31:43
16 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
24 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
32 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
76 Jack Haig (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:09:14
99 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:12:10
120 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:19:25
145 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:19:25
161 Svein Tuft (CAN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:19:25