Vuelta a España
Stage 14: Urdax-Dantxarinea to Aubisque - Gourette - Stage Details

An outstanding display of tactical racing by ORICA-BikeExchange on today’s stage 14 of the Vuelta a Espana sawstage six winner Simon Yates move up to fourth overall and teammate Esteban Chaves up to third.

Stage 12 winner Jens Keukeleire set the day up by infiltrating the breakaway alongside Simon Gerrans and Magnus Cort with the trio setting the tempo all the way to the penultimate climb.

Australian Jack Haig was next to play his part with an attack out of the peloton that was followed by Yates. Haig gave his all and launched Yates up the road where Gerrans, Cort and Keukeleire were waiting.

The plan was executed beautifully with Yates riding exceptionally to finish fifth behind stage winner Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo) as Chaves unleashed an explosive attack of his own out of the favourites group.

Chaves dropped both Christopher Froome (Team-Sky) and race leader Nairo Quintana (Movistar) crossing the line some 30seconds ahead in ninth place and moving up to third overall with Yates now in fourth.

“We had a plan at the start and we executed it to perfection,” said Yates. “The whole team performed really well and it's good to see it pay off today.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Robert Gesink (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 5:43:24
2 Kenny Elissonde (FRA) - FDJ 0:00:07
3 Egor Silin (RUS) - Team Katusha 0:00:09
4 George Bennett (NZL) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:31
5 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:39
6 Haimar Zubeldia (SPA) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:49
7 Jan Bakelants (BEL) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:11
8 Andrew Talansky (USA) - Cannondale-Drapac 0:01:14
9 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:14
10 Leopold Konig (CZE) - Team Sky 0:01:16
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
5 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:39
9 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:14
61 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:23:14
70 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:25:44
71 Jack Haig (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:25:44
78 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:27:50
102 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:34:49
135 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:38:41
136 Svein Tuft (CAN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:38:41