Vuelta a España
Stage 2: Ourense Thermal Capital to Baiona - Stage Details

Young Dane Magnus Cort sprinted to a strong third place for ORICA-BikeExchange in a hectic finale on stage two of the Vuelta a Espana today.

Excellent teamwork from ORICA-BikeExchange saw the breakaway caught over the last 20kilometres before a crash disrupted the finale with Cort sprinting brilliantly to third behind stage winner Gianni Meersman (Etixx-Quickstep).

“I was quite a long way back after the crash with two kilometres to go,” said Cort at the finish. “I lost Jens Keukeleire and had to start my sprint from a long way back and I was looking for a gap and the best line to the finish.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Gianni Meersman (BEL) - Etixx - Quick-Step 4:16:39
2 Michael Schwarzmann (GER) - Bora-Argon 18 ST
3 Magnus Cort (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
4 Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) - Team Sky ST
5 Jonas Van Genechten (BEL) - IAM Cycling ST
6 Kristian Sbaragli (ITA) - Dimension Data ST
7 Niccolò Bonifazio (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo ST
8 Jhonatan Restrepo (COL) - Team Katusha ST
9 Jean-Pierre Drucker (LUX) - BMC Racing Team ST
10 Lorrenzo Manzin (FRA) - FDJ ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Magnus Cort (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
11 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
34 Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (COL) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
36 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
41 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
65 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
108 Jack Haig (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
170 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:07
192 Svein Tuft (CAN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:04:23