Vuelta a España
Stage 11: Tarazona - Tarazona (ITT) - Stage Details

Fabian Cancellara (RadioShack Leopard Trek) out-rode reigning Time Trial World Champion Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-Quick-Step) to win the Tarazona individual time trial. Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) regained the Vuelta a España red leader’s jersey off of Chris Horner (RadioShack-Leopard-Trek) after setting the fourth fastest time over the hilly 38.8km course.

Simon Clarke was the best finisher for ORICA-GreenEDGE on the stage. He slotted into 54thplace, exactly five minutes slower than Cancellara. Sam Bewley stopped the clock at 5’05, good for 65th place.

“Today was just a day to get through for us. It was a semi-rest day for the most of the guys. That said, the course was really hard. It was pretty much uphill for the first 18km. That section really hurt the guys. Sam had a bit of a go for training purposes more than anything. He did a good ride for a bigger guy, and I know he’s happy with his performance on the flat section at the end.” - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) - RadioShack Leopard 0:51:00
2 Tony Martin (Ger) - Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:00:37
3 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:24
4 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) - Astana Pro Team 0:01:25
5 Dario Cataldo (Ita) - Sky Procycling 0:01:41
6 Nicolas Roche (Irl) - Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:01:48
7 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team 0:01:52
8 Jerome Coppel (Fra) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits ST
9 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) - Astana Pro Team 0:01:53
10 Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) - Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:02:13
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
54 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:00
65 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:05
100 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:03
114 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:35
133 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:11
155 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:00
166 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:23
181 Baden Cooke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:10:46