Vuelta a España
Stage 14: Bagà - Andorra. Collada de la Gallina - Stage Details

Daniele Ratto (Cannondale) emerged from a five rider breakaway to win the opening Pyrenean stage of the Vuelta a España. Ratto slipped away with Philippe Gilbert (BMC), Steve Chainel (Ag2r La Mondiale) and Belkin teammates Luis Leon Sanchez and Graeme Brown.

Ratto soloed to victory nearly four minutes ahead Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) and Chris Horner (RadioShack-Leopard-Trek). Simon Clarke was the team’s top finisher on the stage, crossing the summit finish line in 43rd place, 15’16 behind Ratto.

“From a racing perspective, we don’t have much to talk about in terms of our day. Clarkey was going pretty well. He was in the bunch for most of the stage. For everyone else, it was just a death march. It starting raining in the first hour, and it never stopped,” Wilson added.  “Temperatures fell to below 10°C. It was super cold. The guys were dropping back for jackets and food, but they were so cold they could barely reach into their pockets to eat.” - DS Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Daniele Ratto (Ita) - Cannondale Pro Cycling 4:24:00
2 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) - Astana Pro Team 0:03:53
3 Christopher Horner (USA) - RadioShack Leopard 0:03:55
4 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) - Katusha 0:04:11
5 Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) - Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:04:19
6 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team 0:04:43
7 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) - 0:04:46
8 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
9 Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) - Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:05:17
10 Leopold Konig (Cze) - Team NetApp-Endura 0:05:21
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
43 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:16
62 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:20:37
108 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:28:13
114 Baden Cooke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:29:12
117 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
119 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST