Vuelta a España
Stage 18: Burgos - Peña Cabarga - Stage Details

Vasil Kiryienka (Team Sky) claimed a solo stage win atop the Peña Cabarga. The Belarusian was part of a 15 rider escape group that formed 18km from the stage 18 start in Burgos. Simon Clarke was the final rider to bridge across to the winning breakaway as it took shape in the opening hour of racing. 

"Clarkey was in a move that produced the stage winner, and he fought hard to be amongst the action at the end. It took quite awhile for his breakaway to go, which is quite common on these stages when the break has a real chance to stay away. Initially the move included seven or eight riders. Guys steadily started going across to the leaders, and Clarkey was the last one to make it. He said the group worked well together, especially when their advantage continued to grow. They knew they had a shot at the win.

Clarkey took his chances with a few attacks. His moves and the counter-attacks broke apart the break on the second to last climb. He found himself distanced from the leaders, but he chased really hard to get back on the descent between the second to last climb and the summit finish. Clarkey went very deep there, and he struggled to recover on the last climb. When the guys started attacking again, he fell off the pace." - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Vasil Kiryienka (Blr) - Sky Procycling 4:46:48
2 Chris Anker Sörensen (Den) - Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:00:28
3 Adam Hansen (Aus) - Lotto Belisol 0:01:18
4 Martin Kohler (Swi) - BMC Racing Team 0:01:34
5 Egoi Martinez De Esteban (Spa) - Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:01:42
6 Christopher Horner (USA) - RadioShack Leopard 0:01:53
7 Amets Txurruka (Spa) - Caja Rural 0:02:02
8 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) - Katusha 0:02:13
9 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
10 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) - Astana Pro Team 0:02:18
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
23 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:04
59 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:48
94 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:11:42
123 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:22:16
126 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST