Vuelta a España
Stage 21: Leganés - Madrid - Stage Details

Michael Matthews added a second Grand Tour stage win to his palmarès in Madrid. With strong support from his ORICA-GreenEDGE teammates, the 22-year-old sprinted to victory on the last stage of the Vuelta a España, outkicking Tyler Farrar (Garmin Sharp) and Nikias Arndt (Argos-Shimano) to the line. In his first Grand Tour, Matthews won two stages, spent two days in the green points jersey and earned the combativity award on the final day of racing.

“We’ve only had five riders here this last week, so we needed to use them carefully. The plan was to try to only use Christian [Meier] in the chase and save Mitch [Docker], Clarkey [Simon Clarke] and Leigh [Howard] to work in the sprint. A lot of teams wanted a sprint, so we were lucky to be able to do that. Because of the technical nature of the circuit and hectic nature of the sprint, we had to use Leigh and Clarkey a bit earlier than we had planned. In the last kilometre, only Mitch remained with Bling. Mitch had the presence of mind to jump on the Argos-Shimano train. It was the perfect move for us.” - Sport Director Matt Wilson

“The boys were brilliant. The last lap might not have gone exactly to plan but it worked out perfectly. Simon put Leigh, Mitch and me in position with about 4km left to race. Leigh took over after that. He did a huge turn before leaving me with Mitch. When the Argos train came underneath us, Mitch latched onto that. I got to the 200m mark in second wheel. Then, I opened my sprint.” - Michael Matthews


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 2:44:00
2 Tyler Farrar (USA) - Garmin-Sharp ST
3 Nikias Arndt (Ger) - Team Argos-Shimano ST
4 Gianni Meersman (Bel) - Omega Pharma-Quick Step ST
5 Maximiliano Ariel Richeze (Arg) - Lampre-Merida ST
6 Grega Bole (Slo) - Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team ST
7 Adrien Petit (Fra) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits ST
8 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) - Team Argos-Shimano ST
9 Francesco Lasca (Ita) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA ST
10 Robert Wagner (Ger) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 2:44:00
83 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:20
131 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:04
135 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:22
136 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:26