Vuelta a España
Stage 4: Lalín/a Estrada - Fisterra. Etapa Fin del Mundo - Stage Details

With Daniel Moreno (Katusha) and Fabian Cancellara (RadioShack-Leopard-Trek) off the front, Michael Matthews won the bunch sprint in Fisterra. His well-time acceleration was good for third place on stage four of the Vuelta a España.

The Mirador de Ezaro, the only ranked climb on the undulating day, was the talk of the stage. The beast of a climb, coming 35km from the finish line, averages 13.1% over 1.8km with select sections as steep as 29%.Gerrans, feeling the impact of his crash yesterday, lost contact with the reduced bunch over the leg-breaking slopes. Matthews managed to ride within himself to stay in touch with the shrinking front bunch and contest the finish. 

“Our entire plan was hinged around the Mirador de Ezaro. We needed to see how Gerro [Simon Gerrans] and Bling [Michael Matthews] would go over the climb and see what sort of teammates they had left at the top.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens

“The boys put me in the perfect position to launch myself in the sprint. It’s unfortunate that Moreno and Cancellara snuck away in the final kilometre, but I won the sprint for third. My sprinting legs are good and my climbing legs are good, too. We’ll see in the next few days if we can go even better and get that stage win we’re all aiming for together.” - Michael Matthews

Note: Wesley Sulzberger crashed on the Mirador de Ezaro. He carried on to finish the stage but was taken to hosptial for x-rays post-race where he learned he had a borken collarbone. Sulzberger will not start stage five. 


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) - Katusha 4:37:47
2 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) - RadioShack Leopard ST
3 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
4 Gianni Meersman (Bel) - Omega Pharma-Quick Step ST
5 Bauke Mollema (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
6 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) - Sky Procycling ST
7 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
8 Warren Barguil (Fra) - Team Argos-Shimano ST
9 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) - Sky Procycling ST
10 Nicolas Roche (Irl) - Team Saxo-Tinkoff ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
94 Baden Cooke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:25
96 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:28
110 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:33
131 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:14:21
139 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
147 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
186 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
195 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST