Vuelta Ciclista a La Rioja - Race Overview

Michael Matthews has won the 56th Vuelta Ciclista a la Rioja taking the sprint by a whisker after ORICA-GreenEDGE brought back the breakaway in the final ten kilometres of the race.

The third victory in three years for ORICA-GreenEDGE and the second for Matthews was made all the more sweeter by the manner in which the team controlled the race. Taking responsibility at the front of the peloton for most of the day, Matthews praised the tireless work of his teammates.

“The team were amazing throughout the race today,” said Matthews. “They did a perfect job controlling things and I’m happy I was able to finish it off.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 3:47:20
2 Sergei Shilov (RUS) - Sel. Russia ST
3 Carlos Barber (SPA) - Caja Rural-Seguros Rga ST
4 Samuel Caleira (POR) - W52-Fc Porto ST
5 Daniel Freitas (POR) - W52-Fc Porto ST
6 Maris Bogdanovics (LAT) - Rietumu-Dolphin ST
7 Yanto Barker (GBR) - One Pro Cycling ST
8 Vicente Mateos (SPA) - Louletano ST
9 Vadim Zhuravlev (RUS) - Lokosphinx ST
10 Juan Perez (SPA) - W52-Fc Porto ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 3:47:20
53 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
60 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:13
83 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:13
103 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:28
110 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:28
114 King Lok Cheung (HKG) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:59