Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco - Race Overview

Sport Director Neil Stephens had targeted the opening two stages of Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco. He had hoped his team could pull off a stage win on one of them. They delievered on both with Simon Gerrans winning the opening stage from a 20-strong group while Daryl Impey won a bunch sprint on stage two - the same stage on which he took his first WorldTour victory last year. 

The team supported Pieter Weening on his quest for a top ten finish on the overall classification. Weening had several strong rides in the mountains taking fifth on the penultimate day of racing after finishing eighth on stage four. He closed out the week in ninth place in the final stage time trial to finish sixth overall.

“Obviously, I’m thrilled with the ways things turned out for us. I put an X on the first two stages, and we pulled them both out. I wanted to give Pieter Weening a chance to do a decent GC [general classification] and he came out with sixth. They boys did better than I had hoped. The way we raced here and what we accomplished is another step forward for the ORICA-GreenEDGE team.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens

General Classification

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) - Movistar Team 21:39:35
2 Richie Porte (Aus) - Sky Procycling 0:00:23
3 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) - Sky Procycling 0:00:34
4 Simon Spilak (Slo) - Katusha 0:00:35
5 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:00:54
6 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:18
7 Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:19
8 Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Spa) - Movistar Team 0:01:57
9 Wouter Poels (Ned) - Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 0:02:47
10 John Gadret (Fra) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:02:56
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
6 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:18
35 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:16:07
42 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:22:14
70 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:00:06