Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco - Race Overview

They had twice won in Vitoria. “GreenEDGE Wins in the Green City,” the headlines proclaimed. The pressure was on to make it three for three, and the Australian outfit did not disappoint. From the early chase work to the final-lead, the ORICA-GreenEDGE Vuelta al Pais Vasco squad combined efforts to deliver Michael Matthews to victory on the third stage of the Basque tour.

By week end, the team would have further cause to celebrate. Simon Yates had won the best young rider classification, slotting into 12th overall, 3'07 behind race winner Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo). Measurable results aside, ORICA-GreenEDGE animated the action on stages four and five, spending time in the early break and on the late race attack. 

“We came here to win a stage. We did that. I think we were present in every other stage. We had riders in the break and on the attack. We thought maybe we would do something in the overall with Pieter Weening, but we ended up supporting Simon instead. We’re still getting to know Simon, and he’s still getting to know us. He’s showing an unbelievable amount of promise for future. He’s capable of winning stages and doing fantastic rides on the general classification. The other guys have shown their capabilities in supporting him. By the end of the week, the team was firing on all cylinders. The future is bright.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens

General Classification

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Tinkoff-Saxo 21:09:11
2 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:00:49
3 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:04
4 Simon Spilak (Slo) - Team Katusha 0:01:07
5 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team
6 Tejay van Garderen (USA) - BMC Racing Team 0:01:56
7 Cadel Evans (Aus) - BMC Racing Team
8 Iurii Trofimov (Rus) - Team Katusha 0:02:13
9 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) - 0:02:14
10 Wout Poels (Ned) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:02:26
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
12 Simon Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:17
32 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:21:59
53 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:37:52
76 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:49:30
98 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:06:16
101 Esteban Chaves (Col) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:08:26