Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco
Stage 2: Ordizia - Urdazubi - Stage Details

ORICA-GreenEDGE’s Michael Matthews sprinted to eighth place from the chasing bunch in Dantxarinea. Thirty seconds earlier, Tony Martin (Omega Pharma Quick-Step) had crossed the finish line alone to claim victory on the second stage of Vuelta al Pais Vasco. Matthews sprint slotted him into ninth place on the stage.

Martin was part of the early breakaway of seven riders that formed inside the opening 30 kilometres. The German was joined up the road by his teammate Jan Bakelants, Bob Jungels (Trek Factory Racing), Gorka Izagirre (Movistar), Maxime Monfort (Lotto-Belisol) and David Malacarne (Europcar).  With Jungels only 4’15 down on the overall and Martin’s individual time trialling prowess, the early escape was never afforded a long leash. Tinkoff-Saxo allowed them less than a three minutes maximum advantage.

ORICA-GreenEDGE gave chase in the final 60-70 kilometres, pegging the break back to under a minute wth assistance from Team Sky and BMC. Martin attacked his escape group inside the final 20 kilometres, taking Bakelants and Izagirre with him as he time trialed away from the fast-closing bunch. Bakelants and Izagirre eventually fell off pace. Martin held on to take the win alone while Ben Swift (Team Sky) led home the peloton.

“We were obviously aware that Tony was a dangerous guy to have in the break and the group as a whole was really strong. We tried to time it right and bring it back at the right moment but what can you do? The tactical decision we made felt right at the time We could have used up all our guys to bring it back earlier only to have someone attack in the last three kilometres – and we would have had no one left to cover. We did what we could do, and it wasn’t enough to bring back one guy.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Tony Martin (Ger) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 3:46:17
2 Ben Swift (GBr) - Team Sky 0:00:30
3 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
4 Damiano Cunego (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
5 Paul Martens (Ger) - Belkin-Pro Cycling Team ST
6 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
7 Maxim Iglinskiy (Kaz) - Astana Pro Team ST
8 Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) - Team Europcar ST
9 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
10 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
9 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
48 Simon Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
57 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:42
70 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:27
94 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:42
95 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
126 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:11:24
140 Esteban Chaves (Col) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:34