Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco
Stage 3: Vitoria-Gasteiz to Zumarraga - Stage Details

limbers Simon Yates and Esteban Chaves have finished 8th and 16th respectively on stage three of the Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco, the first day to shake up the general classification competition.

The pair finished ten seconds behind Joaquim Rodriquez (Team Katusha) who took the win from two other narrow escapees. Another group of four riders crossed the line seven seconds off the pace.

After an opening stage victory and narrow second place yesterday, Michael Matthews relinquished his overall lead to Sergio Henao (Team Sky) who finished second on the stage. Chaves and Yates moved up into 15th and 16th overall.

“We had a plan to make sure the boys were well placed but we also thought let’s try to go one bit further, let’s try to do something on the stage,” sport director Neil Stephens said. “It was a big ask, but you have to aspire to these things.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Joaquim Rodriguez (SPA) - Team Katusha 4:39:02
2 Sergio Luis Henao (COL) - Team Sky ST
3 Nairo Quintana (COL) - Movistar Team ST
4 Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) - Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:07
5 Rafal Majka (POL) - Tinkoff-Saxo 0:00:07
6 Michele Scarponi (ITA) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:07
7 Samuel Sanchez (SPA) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:07
8 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:10
9 Simon Spilak (SLO) - Team Katusha
10 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) - BMC Racing Team
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
8 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:10
16 Esteban Chaves (COL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:10
60 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:36
79 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:59
85 Pieter Weening (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:10:30
95 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:11:20
106 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:11:20