Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco - Race Overview

ORICA-GreenEDGE completed the six-day stage race Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco today with Briton Adam Yates the team’s best placed rider on the overall general classification in 32nd place.

Yates produced an excellent performance in the individual time trial to place fourth on the day with a time of 30minutes and six seconds for the 16.5kilometre course. The race was won by Alberto Contador (Tinkoff).

A difficult week unfolded in the Basque hills for the team after losing race contender Simon Yates to a heavy crash on the Queen stage. Former Australian road race champion Simon Gerrans twice came close to stage victories with third on the opening stage and second on stage three.

Sport director Neil Stephens acknowledged that it had been a tough week for the team.

“The mountainous route always makes it a hard race,” said Stephens. “Everybody had to race in the same conditions and unfortunately we suffered on a couple of stages.”

Read the full final report here.

General Classification

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Alberto Contador (SPA) - Tinkoff Team 22:44:43
2 Sergio Henao (COL) - Team Sky 0:00:12
3 Nairo Quintana (COL) - Movistar Team 0:00:37
4 Thibaut Pinot (FRA) - FDJ 0:01:13
5 Joaquin Rodriguez (SPA) - Team Katusha 0:01:22
6 Samuel Sanchez (SPA) - BMC Racing Team 0:01:29
7 Rui Costa (POR) - Lampre - Merida 0:02:19
8 Simon Spilak (SLO) - Team Katusha 0:02:47
9 Lawson Craddock (USA) - Cannondale Pro Cycling 0:02:52
10 Wilco Kelderman (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:03:14
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
32 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:17:10
49 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:27:19
80 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:00:02
82 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:05:39
83 Amets Txurruka (SPA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:05:59
86 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:10:57