Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco
Stage 1: Etxebarria to Markina-Xemein - Stage Details

Tour Down Under champion Simon Gerrans outsprinted the bunch to take third place for ORICA-GreenEDGE on stage one of the Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vascotoday.

Good work from Simon Yates and Adam Yates on the final climb of the day brought the head of the race together, before a late attack involving Daniel Navarro (Cofidis) and Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana) made it to the finish with Sanchez taking the win.

Sport director Neil Stephens was pleased with how the team performed on the opening stage.

”Obviously it’s slightly disappointing that we didn’t get the win,” said Stephens. ”The team did some great work throughout the stage, especially in the final third to keep Simon (Gerrans) up there for the finale.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Luis Leon Sanchez (SPA) - Astana Pro Team 3:54:21
2 Daniel Navarro (SPA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits ST
3 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
4 Fabio Felline (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo ST
5 Simon Clarke (AUS) - Cannondale Pro Cycling ST
6 Jan Bakelants (BEL) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
7 Daniel Martin (IRL) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
8 Warren Barguil (FRA) - Team Giant-Alpecin ST
9 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto Soudal ST
10 Sergei Chernetski (RUS) - Team Katusha ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
18 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
21 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
58 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:18
88 Amets Txurruka (Spa) - ORICA-GreenEDGE
98 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:48
141 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:12:52
145 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:12:52