Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco
Stage 3: Vitoria-Gasteiz to Lesaka - Stage Details

2014 Liege-Bastogne-Liege winner Simon Gerrans sprinted to second place on stage three of the Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco today behind the late solo attack of stage winner Stephen Cummmings (Dimension-Data).

Gerrans won the bunch sprint for second place after excellent work by last year's Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian winner Adam Yates. Yates managed to bridge across to the first group of chasers in the last 25kilometres and played an important role in bringing things back together for Gerrans and ORICA-GreenEDGE. The result saw Gerrans move into the lead of the points classification and take the race's white jersey. 

Sport director Neil Stephens was happy with the result and reiterated the point that Gerrans is coming into some good from for the upcoming races.

“Great effort from Simon (Gerrans) today to get over a difficult parcours and be so close to the win in the finale,” said Stephens. “Like we mentioned on Monday, he is coming into some form now which is really promising for the team going into April.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Stephen Cummings (GBR) - Dimension Data 5:01:57
2 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
3 Fabio Felline (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo ST
4 Gianluca Brambilla (ITA) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
5 Giovanni Visconti (ITA) - Movistar Team ST
6 Simon Clarke (AUS) - Cannondale Pro Cycling ST
7 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto Soudal ST
8 Pello Bilbao (SPA) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA ST
9 Sergei Chernetski (RUS) - Team Katusha ST
10 Sergio Henao (COL) - Team Sky ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
50 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
53 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:19
99 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:28
103 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:11:30
122 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:13:53
129 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:54
134 Amets Txurruka (SPA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:54