Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco
Stage 5: Orio to Arrate (Eibar) - Stage Details

A heavy crash 100kilometres into stage five forced Simon Yates of ORICA-GreenEDGE to abandon the 2016 edition of the Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco today.

Multiple Tour de Romandie stage winner Michael Albasini was the team’s best finisher on the day in 16th place. Stage winner Diego Rosa (Astana) broke free from the day's early breakaway with over 70kilometres still to race and held on for the solo win.

Sport director Neil Stephens was thankful Yates did not sustain any obvious serious injury.

“What a day,” said Stephens. “We knew it was going to be an incredibly hard day and we had a good race plan at the start of the stage to try and work for Simon (Yates) until the final climbs. Unfortunately due to the crash we had to adapt and at that point it was too late.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Diego Rosa (ITA) - Astana Pro Team 4:19:19
2 Sergio Henao (COL) - Team Sky 0:03:13
3 Alberto Contador (SPA) - Tinkoff Team 0:03:13
4 Joaquin Rodriguez (SPA) - Team Katusha 0:03:15
5 Thibaut Pinot (FRA) - FDJ 0:03:15
6 Samuel Sanchez (SPA) - BMC Racing Team 0:03:40
7 Nairo Quintana (COL) - Movistar Team 0:03:41
8 Lawson Craddock (USA) - Cannondale Pro Cycling 0:03:56
9 Rui Costa (POR) - Lampre - Merida 0:04:12
10 Serge Pauwels (BEL) - Dimension Data 0:04:12
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
16 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:41
38 Amets Txurruka (SPA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:47
70 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:17:07
89 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:22:25
92 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:22:25
94 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:22:25