Clean sweep – Plapp wins third Australian Road Race Championship title as Team Jayco AlUla go one, two, three

Team Jayco AlUla dominated the Australian Road Race Championships as Luke Plapp secured his third title in as many years, crossing the line alongside teammate Chris Harper while Kelland O’Brien grasped the final podium spot.

Plapp and Harper went clear with more than 100km to go as they jumped away from a dangerous breakaway group that formed early in the 16-lap race. Once the pair had a gap there was no looking back as the advantage grew lap after lap while O’Brien formed part of a three-rider chase group behind.

With more than six minutes over the chasers, Plapp and Harper were able to savour the moment on the final lap as they shared a smile before crossing the line together to finish off a stunning and dominate ride.

O’Brien then made it an historic day for GreenEDGE Cycling as he sprinted home to take third place and lock out the podium for the team. The result is the third podium clean sweep for the team after Plapp, Harper and Michael Hepburn in the time trial and a Liv AlUla Jayco one, two, three in the criterium.

In total, the squad roll away from Ballart and the national championships with nine medals in total, including five gold medals across the six elite races.

Luke Plapp (1st):
“The Aussies are back, GreenEDGE is back! That was amazing out there, I think from the gun we had everything under control and me and Harper had a great time out there, I can’t thank him enough.

We just wanted to be in control the whole time and I think we saw it, we knew we could take control early and once we were out there we always had it in the bag. It was an amazing team effort, from Blake [Quick] at the start, Rudy [Porter] following the moves, then Kell, we were never out of it.”

Chris Harper (2nd):
“I think from the start we were all on top of it, Plappy and I came across the line one-two and it really was a team effort today, everybody played their part. We had numbers and could dictate the race really.

Plappy was absolutely flying at the end there, so I had to tell him to ease up a little bit for me, but it’s a great day and a good hit out for us going to Tour Down Under next week as well.”

2024 Australian Road Race Championships – Men
1. Luke Plapp (Team Jayco AlUla) 4:34:26
2. Chris Harper (Team Jayco AlUla) ST
3. Kelland O’Brien (Team Jayco AlUla) +6:09

Photo: Con Chronis

Copyright © 2024 Team Jayco Alula – Privacy Policy – powered and designed by Butti Computer